Wednesday, August 10, 2022
Log in or create a new MyGrange account
Keyword / Search: 


Around The Grange
Wisconsin Grange convention being held in Reedsburg

By Reedsburg Times Press, Wisconsin (9/21/11)

  SEPTEMBER 21, 2011 --

The 140th convention of the Wisconsin State Grange will be held Thursday September 22 through Saturday September 24 at the Voyageur Inn in Reedsburg.

Patti Lee, National Grange officer (Flora) from Belvidere, Ill., will be on hand representing the National Grange, with headquarters in Washington, D.C.

Lexi Gegare, secretary of the National Junior Horticultural Association, will be the keynote speaker at the annual banquet Friday night. She is a college student from Milton.

The public is invited.

Spirit of Grange Awards will be presented plus musical entertainment. For advance registrations, contact Duane Scott, president of the Wisconsin State Grange, Fort Atkinson, at 920-723-6660 or at duanerscott@yahoo.com or Alan Arner, treasurer, Janesville, at 608-201-5192 or wisgrange@charter.net.

The annual address by Scott will be at 11:15 a.m. Friday. Delegates working on resolutions are also on Friday's agenda. Developing "grass roots" policy is an important aspect of State Grange business.

Scott said that he expects resolutions coming from local community Granges to deal with health care, election campaign expenses, and land-use issues as well as other agricultural, family and community concerns.

Convention displays will include many entries from enrichment contests and also items donated for the traditional Harvest Sale on Friday after the banquet. This year, the auctioneer will be Lyle Lee, president of the Illinois State Grange. Community Service record books will be displayed with results of this contest announced at Saturday's luncheon.

Saturday's events include a morning memorial service, the noon awards luncheon, and afternoon officer installation ceremony before the final closing.

"Be the Spark" is the convention theme. The southern community Granges including Fairfield, La Prairie, Milton, Rock Prairie, Stateline and Turtle from Walworth and Rock Counties are official hosts.

 Related Website Links
Clicking on these links will open the website in a new window

© 2022 The Connecticut State Grange. All Rights Reserved.